Home > Ephemeris Program, Seasons > 06/20/2014 – Ephemeris – Summer is almost here!

06/20/2014 – Ephemeris – Summer is almost here!

June 20, 2014

Ephemeris for Friday, June 20th.  Today the sun will be up for 15 hours and 33 minutes, setting at 9:31.   The moon, 1 day past last quarter, will rise at 2:21 tomorrow morning.  Tomorrow the sun will rise at 5:57.

Summer will begin at 6:52 tomorrow morning.  Great I can’t wait.  Summer is my favorite season, and it is especially welcome after the long and cold winter, and a not especially warm spring.  In the summer I move my operations to a table under a tree in the back yard, with a laptop and my radio tuned to IPR, of course.  There I conduct my research, take online teleconferences and courses and do my writing.  The summer solstice for us in the northern hemisphere is when the sun reaches its farthest north in the sky.  Around the Interlochen/Traverse City area that’s about 68.5 degrees above the southern horizon at solar noon, which is about 1:43 p.m. and staying up 15 hours and 33 minutes.

Times are for the Traverse City/Interlochen area of Michigan.  They may be different for your location.

Addendum

Summer solstice

The earth centered on Michigan at 6:52 a.m. EDT, June 21, 2014 the moment of the summer solstice. Created using Celestia.

My summer office

My summer office

  1. No comments yet.
  1. June 21, 2014 at 6:52 am
Comments are closed.
